Recognition Awards

The AANA presented its first award, the Award of Appreciation, in 1947. It was the AANA’s only award until 1975, and it recognized people or institutions who had made significant contributions to the development of nurse anesthesia in the United States. Since 1975 the number of AANA awards has grown, and AANA now recognizes outstanding accomplishment not only by clinicians, educators, and researchers, but also by those involved in public relations, state and federal politics, and professional advocacy.
Awards presented by AANA are listed below. Each page linked below describes the purpose of and the eligibility for the award and lists the past recipients.
Note on credentials: The CRNA credential was adopted at the 1956 Business Meeting and will appear after nurse anesthetists' names beginning in 1957. The credentials listed after each name were the ones held at the time the award was presented.

Award Nomination Form

Please contact Mary Scheuermann at for further information regarding the awards process.

Awards Presented Annually

 For more information about each of these awards click on the name of the award below.  For a nomination form for the Federal Political Director of the Year Award and the Annual Congress Awards, please see the information above.
All other nomination forms are found through the links below.

 Award Nominations Due Annually in January

Nomination Deadline: January 1
Nomination Deadline: January 15
Nomination form is found in the Award Nomination Form paragraph at the top of this page

Nomination Deadline:
January 15

 AANA Award for Excellence in State Government Relations


 Annual Meeting Awards


 Public Relations Recognition Awards


 Awards Presented Occasionally


 Awards No Longer Presented